Maths Club – Now over-subscribed

Hi All

I’m thinking of starting a Maths Club for kids aged 7+.

My idea is to have a group of about 10 kids following a similar maths syllabus and meeting up weekly or fortnightly for a tutorial hour or two in order to go over what they find difficult or easy. Just to be clear, this is not a teaching project. As much as I like maths, I’m not looking to teach it but from experience, I know learners remember and probably assimilate more during informal interactive tutorials.

I’m guessing the kids will need a lot of help but I expect them to be fully independent learners in a couple of years’ time.

Here are the logistics:
  • I’m looking for kids (and parents) able and happy to embark on a maths journey starting Jan 6 2014 from primary to IGCSE and beyond.
  • The syllabus we are following is the Centre for Innovation in Mathematics Teaching’s specs (CIMT) because it’s the best I’ve come across. It’s free and it covers reception years to A Level.
  • We are looking to start from Year 3A in January and hoping to complete the initial ones between now and end of 2013
  • CIMT materials can either be freely printed off the website or ordered for a nominal cost.
  • When the club commences, I’m hoping the participating kids can cover a minimum of 2 pages a day so that if we meet up weekly, there’ll be at least 10 pages to munch over. As time goes on, I’ll be calling on some maths gurus to cover some problematic areas.
  • I will be setting up a private GOOGLE group to discuss problems, solutions, best practices, maths links, etc

[Like others using books, we also supplement it with the  conquer maths and study ladder software programs but these are just to break the monotony at these early stages. To really kill maths, nothing beats pen and paper.]

As already mentioned, this is not a maths tuition class. I’m happy to guide the kids but I have no interest in teaching on a weekly basis so I will expect other parents to chip in as well. In any case, I’m so confident the kids will need minimal adult assistance as time goes on. I’ll like to continue to believe that private paid-for tuition is not needed for maths.

The relevant CIMT link is here.

For the moment, if anyone wants to embark on this amazing Maths journey with us, please show your hands offlist. A max of 10 kids altogether are needed. I already have 2.

Cheers All
Pxx

Comments are closed.

Please enter your email address to follow us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other subscribers